November 16, 2009

Loyola Chicago sickens field at Health Law moot court competition

The 18th Annual Health Law Moot Court Competition took place the weekend of November 6-7, and Loyola University Chicago School of Law took top honors. The University of Pittsburgh School of Law finished in second place. Two teams from South Texas College of Law rounded out the semifinalists of the 28-team competition, which was hosted by the Southern Illinois University School of Law.

South Texas College of Law pulled in the Best Brief award. Kim Waldrop of Faulker University Thomas Goode Jones School of Law was named Best Oralist of the preliminary rounds, while Joe Sadaly of Pitt won the Best Overall Oralist award.

Full results are here.

November 15, 2009

SMU denies Texas Tech encore at Entertainment Law moot

Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law won this weekend's 12th Annual National Entertainment Law Moot Court Competition, a 24-team tournament hosted by the Pepperdine University School of Law. My Texas Tech University School of Law team finished as the runner-up, thereby preventing a repeat of last year's results. George Mason University School of Law and DePaul University College of Law were the semifinalists.

Fordham University School of Law at the Jesuit University of New York won Best Petitioner's Brief, with University of the Pacific McGeorge School of Law winning the counterpart award on the Respondent side. Adam Doupe of SMU was the Best Oralist of the preliminary rounds, while his teammate Ashley Pulliam was the Best Oralist of the final round.

November 9, 2009

Chicago-Kent "lawyers up" at Illinois ALA competition

Chicago-Kent College of Law at the Illinois Institute of Technology took home most of the loot at this weekend's Illinois Appellate Lawyers Moot Court Competition, narrowly edging my Texas Tech University School of Law team for the championship (the final round was separated by a mere 2/3 of a point). University of Houston Law Center and the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law at Yeshiva University were the semifinalists at the 16-team tournament.

Chicago-Kent won Best Brief, and its own Jocelyn Floyd won Best Overall Oralist. Robin O'Neill of Houston was the top oralist of the preliminary rounds.

November 5, 2009

Alabama rolls over competition at National Trial Advocacy Competition

The University of Alabama School of Law won the 10th Annual National Trial Advocacy Competition, held October 8-11 at the Michigan State University College of Law. The University of Houston Law Center finished second at the 26-team tournament. Georgetown University Law Center and Fordham University School of Law at the Jesuit University of New York were the semifinalists.

Sam Nicholson of Georgia State University College of Law took home Best Advocate honors. The Best Opening Statement award went to Aida Wondwessen of Southern Methodist University's Dedman School of Law, while Best Closing Argument was awarded to Deborah Wassel of Fordham. Daniel Michaelson of Brooklyn Law School won Best Direct Examination; Justina Lopez of Fordham won Best Cross Examination. The University of Denver College of Law on the Professional Ethics Award.

Georgia State has a write up here.

November 4, 2009

South Texas exercises free speech rights at Wechsler First Amendment competition

South Texas College of Law claimed its 102d (is that correct Blue Book form???) national championship over the weekend of October 23-24, besting 31 other teams at the 16th Annual Burton D. Wechsler First Amendment Moot Court Competition. University of San Diego School of Law finished second, while Cleveland State University Cleveland-Marshall College of Law and the University of Wisconsin Law School enjoyed semifinalist finishes. The competition is hosted by American University's Washington College of Law.

Best Brief honors went to the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law at Yeshiva University. Craig Tuttle of Cleveland-Marshall was named Best Oralist.

Here are the full results. South Texas's well-deserved horn-tooting is here, with San Diego's here.