January 29, 2009

Duquense: Champions at NITA's Tournanment of Champions

Old news, but better late than never: Duquense University School of Law won 2008's Tournament of Champions, the National Institute for Trial Advocacy's competition that invites the purported 16 top mock trial programs in the country. South Texas College of Law won second place at the tournament, which took place October 29-November 1 in Baltimore.

NITA assembles its invited 16 by measuring schools' three-year performance records at the Texas Young Lawyers Association's National Trial Competition and American Association for Justice's National Student Trial Advocacy Competition.

Loyola Law School Los Angeles and University of Maryland School of Law were the TOC's semifinalists. Eric Policastro of Baylor Law School was named the Best Advocate of the preliminary rounds, while Linda Obioha of Duquense won Best Advocate of the final rounds.

NITA's website features pictures of the four semifinalists. Duquense has a brief write-up on its news page.

By the way -- I know I was a bit derelict in my posting of mock trial results from this past fall semester. I'll do my best to get caught up over the next couple of weeks. If you have any results you want to make sure get posted, please e-mail me.

January 25, 2009

Chapman named national champion at ABA Arbitration Competition

Chapman University School of Law won the national finals of the fourth annual ABA Arbitration Competition yesterday. The tournament, which hosted 14 teams drawn from four regional competitions that took place in November, was hosted by St. Mary's University School of Law. University of Missouri School of Law finished second, while Louisiana State University's Paul M. Herbert Law Center and the University of Oklahoma Law Center rounded out the semifinalists.

Thanks to Professor Todd Bruno at LSU for his live competition updates.

January 23, 2009

Finalists named for ABA Negotiations Competition

The following teams have been named national finalists of the ABA Law Student Division's Negotiation Competition. The finalists advanced out of the 10 regional competitions that took place in early November. The national rounds will take place February 13-14 in Boston, at the ABA's mid-year meeting. Congrats to the advancing teams, and good luck in Boston!

Region 1 (Mass., N.H., Me., R.I., Vt., N.B., N.S., and Que.):
Boston College Law School (Rob Hatfield and Michael Rohr)
Boston College Law School (Kate Billman-Golemme and Kelly McLaughlin)

Region 2 (N.Y., N.J., and Conn.):
Albany Law School (Francine Campbell and Megan Burke)
Fordham University School of Law (Jordan Manekin and Michael Camarinos)

Region 3 (Pa., Del., Md., D.C., Va., and W. Va.):
Liberty University School of Law (Kari Coble and Jordan Van Matre)
Liberty University School of Law (Brian Locker and Cherie Burton)
Washington and Lee University School of Law (Steven Mammarella and Michael Gardner)

Region 4 (Fla., N.C., S.C., Ga., Miss., Ala., Tenn., and P.R.):
Florida International University College of Law (Ashley Vandercar and Nicole Grimal)
University of Miami School of Law (Jane Muir and Kristofor Nelson)
University of North Carolina School of Law (Lauren Newton and Will Kimmey)

Region 5 (Ill., Wis., and Mo.):
Northwestern University School of Law (Jacob Babcock and Leslie Garbarino)
University of Wisconsin Law School (Samuel Wayne and John Cornelius)

Region 6 (Ind., Ky., Ohio, Mich., and Ont.):
Ohio State University, Moritz College of Law (Drew LaFramboise and Orlie Benjamin)
University of Western Ontario Faculty of Law (Tyler Nicholson and David Solomon)

Region 7 (Iowa, Minn., S.D., N.D., Neb., and Man.):
Hamline University School of Law (Charla Marie Hunter and Patrick Zitek)
University of Manitoba Faculty of Law (Kelsey Desjardine and Andrew Buck)

Region 8 (Tex., La., Ark., Okla., and Kan.):
South Texas College of Law (John Moon and Denise Smith)
Texas Tech University School of Law (David A. Thompson and Nathaniel L. Peevey)
Texas Wesleyan University School of Law (Sara Cashiola and Jennifer Brannan)

Region 9 (Ariz., Cal., Colo., Haw., N.M., Nev., Utah, and Wyo.):
Pepperdine University School of Law (Jonathan Loch and Tom Feher)
Southwestern Law School (Daniel Horlick and Whitney Ching)
University of California, Davis, School of Law (Sarah McBride and Jeffrey Osofsky)
University of San Diego School of Law (Allison Morris and Elizabeth McShan)

Region 10 (Wash., Mont., Ore., Idaho, Alta., B.C., and Sask.):
University of Oregon School of Law (Rebecca Ivanoff and Mitchell Huzar)
Willamette University College of Law (Timur Bilir and David Anderson)

January 22, 2009

Detroit Mercy wins first annual Moot Court National Championship

Congratulations to the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law, which bested 14 other schools at the first ever Moot Court National Championship hosted by the Blakely Advocacy Institute at University of Houston Law Center. Regent University School of Law took second place honors.

South Texas College of Law added to its trophy case with the Best Brief Award, while Lindsay Powdrell of Regent won the competition's Best Speaker Award.

Congratulations to Houston and Prof. Peter Hoffman for pulling off the new competition, which, as I wrote a few weeks ago, will hopefully attain a level of prestige equal to that of the National Moot Court Competition and National Appellate Advocacy Competition.

Houston's website has a nice summary of the competition, along with pictures. Detroit Mercy's press release is here. Regent's website write up is here.

***EDIT (1/26/09)***

I feel obliged to give props to Jim Lawrence, the Assistant Director of UH's Blakeley Advocacy Institute. In an e-mail I received from Professor Hoffman, I learned that most of the MCNC's coordination was the responsibility of Professor Lawrence, who conceived the idea some years ago.

January 15, 2009

National finalists for ABA Arbitration Competition

The ABA Law Student Division has selected 14 teams to compete for the national championship at its annual national Arbitration Competition. The teams advanced from four regional competitions held in mid-November. The competition is co-sponsored by the National Arbitration Forum. The finals will take place January 23-24 in San Antonio. The finalists:

Chapman University School of Law (Brett Corson, Arlinda Witko, Jimmy Blalock, and Meghan O'Brien)
Duquesne University School of Law (Joseph Valenti, Orla Powderly, Nicole Hall, and Krystal Wascher)
Louisiana State University, Paul M. Hebert Law Center (Alana Odom, William Murray, Bridget Hillebrand, and G. Adam Savoie)
Michigan State University College of Law (Sarah Stempky, Kevin Kijewsky, Justinian Lane, and Sarah Sleder)
Mississippi College School of Law (Mason Montgomery, Matthew McDade, Sarah Beth Wilson, and Ryan Revere)
Mississippi College School of Law (Jessica Pitts, Marc Bryant, Jessica Bates, and Taylor Polk)
Northern Kentucky University, Salmon P. Chase College of Law (Robert Altman, Stephanie Brunemann, Elle Peck, and Grant Swartzentruber)
Stetson University College of Law (Meghan Reddy, Jennifer Hudson, Jenna Jordan, and James Bush)
Stetson University College of Law (Benjamin Ladouceur, Sara Mieczkowski, Kelly Ann Jenkins, and Sarah Cohen)
Texas Tech University School of Law (Tiffany McDuff, T. J. Roberts, Paul Miller, and Sam Ackels)
Texas Tech University School of Law (Matt Simmons, Matt Butler, Courtney Stamper, and Clayton Hightower)
University of Missouri-Columbia School of Law (Cole Bradbury, Carly Duvall, Jeffrey McCarther, and Claire McGuire)
University of Oklahoma College of Law (Robert Bass, Meredith Bentley, Jessica Durrett, and Geoffrey Rooker)
University of Texas at Austin School of Law (Howard Fomby, Guillermo (Bill) Gonzalez, Katherine Hacker, and Bethany Schneider)