December 7, 2009

National finalist teams for National Moot Court Competition

The slate of teams is set for the national finals of the National Moot Court Competition, which will take place February 1-4 at the New York City Bar Association headquarters in Manhattan. The competition's regional rounds took place in November, with 172 teams entering from 118 American law schools.

Below are the 28 teams that will rumble for the 60th Anniversary trophy.

I've listed the teams according to region, with the regional champion listed first.

Region 1 (Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island):
Syracuse University College of Law
Boston College Law School

Region 2 (New York, New Jersey):
Fordham University School of Law
St. John’s University School of Law

Region 3 (Pennsylvania, Delaware, Washington, D.C., Maryland):
University of Baltimore School of Law
Temple University Beasley School of Law

Region 4 (Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina):
George Mason University School of Law
Wake Forest University School of Law

Region 5 (South Carolina, Georgia, Florida):
University of Georgia School of Law
Emory University School of Law

Region 6 (Ohio, Michigan):
Case Western Reserve University School of Law
Cleveland State University Cleveland-Marshall College of Law

Region 7 (Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana):
Faulkner University Thomas Goode Jones School of Law
Mississippi College School of Law

Region 8 (Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana):
Loyola University Chicago School of Law
Chicago-Kent College of Law, Illinois Institute of Technology

Region 9 (Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri, Arkansas):
Saint Louis University School of Law
University of Arkansas School of Law

Region 10 (Texas, Oklahoma):
Texas Tech University School of Law
South Texas College of Law

Region 11 (Nevada, Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Colorado, Wyoming):
Arizona State University Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law
University of Colorado Law School

Region 12 (California):
University of California Hastings College of the Law
University of San Francisco School of Law

Region 13 (Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana):
University of Washington School of Law
Seattle University School of Law

Region 14 (North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa):
Hamline University Law School
University of Minnesota Law School


Anonymous said...

A technical correction to the listing for Region 14: the runner-up was also from Hamline University School of Law. The University of Minnesota was third place. Pursuant to the competition rules, only one team from each school may compete in the National Finals. So, despite coming in third, the Minnesota team gets to go to the National Finals.

Robert T. Sherwin said...

@Anonymous, you're absolutely correct, and I'll edit to make more clear. Hastings, as I understand it, suffered the same fate.