April 2, 2009

Live blogging from the NAAC

The national finals of the ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition started today in Chicago. After two preliminary rounds, the field of 23 (unfortunately, Duke University School of Law had to withdraw due to the unavailability of one of its students) has been narrowed to 16. It's now a "March Madness"-style bracketed tournament, with the 1 seed versus 16 seed, etc., until the last two teams standing meet Saturday morning in the national championship game.

The top 16 teams, in order of their seeds:

1. Texas Tech University School of Law
2. University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law
3. Washington University in St. Louis School of Law
4. Seton Hall University School of Law
5. University of Florida Fredric G. Levin College of Law
6. University of Oklahoma Law Center
7. Samford University Cumberland School of Law
8. St. Mary's University School of Law
9. Faulkner University Thomas Goode Jones School of Law
10. Loyola University Chicago School of Law
11. American University Washington College of Law
12. Michigan State University College of Law
13. Marquette University Law School
14. UC Hastings College of the Law
15. South Texas College of Law
16. Liberty University School of Law

1 comment:

Jim said...

Congratulations on being the top seed!